The Morgan Library & Museum is Free (sometimes)

If you’re looking to traipse around a museum that isn’t going to be packed with people – but still has free hours – check out the Morgan Library & Museum. One fine Tuesday I decided to venture up to E 36th St solo to check out something I had never heard of before, the Morgan Library & Museum. I figured, hey, old rare books could be fun to look at…for free.

It’s true. They were! Not only did they have bibles and holy texts dating back to the day, they had illuminated manuscripts, copies and copies of philosophers works from the 1500’s and onward, they also have a written letter from Frederick Douglass to his former master that reads like this:

“It is twenty years since I ran away from you, or rather no from you but from Slavery, and since then I have often felt a strong desire to hold a little correspondence with you and to learn something from the position and prospects of your dear children. They were dear to me – and still are – indeed I feel nothing but kindness for you all – I love you, but hate Slavery. Now my dear Sir, will your favor me by dropping me a line, telling me in what year I came to live with you…”

It shook me! And theres plenty more where that came from. Check it out for yourself.

Admission is free on Fridays from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. Admission to the McKim rooms only (Mr. Morgan’s Library, Study, Rotunda, and Librarian’s Office – where the pictures were taken) is free during the following times: Tuesday, 3 p.m. to 5 p.m.; Friday, 7 p.m. to 9 p.m.; Sunday, 4 p.m to 6 p.m.

IMG_9862

If you’re trying to save money for all those pens and key chains you want to buy (buy them in Chinatown), look for free museum days. I’ll be posting more in the near future.

Leave a Reply

